PROLOGUE:

The spring has been so magical that I haven't taken the time to post my entry. So, do pay attention to the dates, please.

                                  1533895.jpg
                                                    
APRIL 15, 2008
The bright sun beamed directly into my eyes and woke me up. On the fifth floor, I don't even own curtains and never lower the blinds. Immediately, I was sure we had overslept, and quickly grabbed my cell phone to check on the time. 5:30 AM. I decided I better find my reading glasses. It was still 5:30 AM. OK! Spring must be here. The sun officially rose today at 05.49, but there's a long period of dawn. Every day, the day's a little longer . . . or a lot longer – depending on your definition of time. I had told my son, Rafael, how much I was looking forward to the miracle of spring. He immediately asked cynically, you're not crying?  -  No, but it does make me emotional. I haven't been here to witness this for 25 years. I tried to justify my muzzy emotional feelings to my sarcastic teenager, fighting back tears.

But I believe Rafael must have noticed it too. One day, there's a snowstorm. We call it takatalvi – backwinter, and the trees get another white blanket. The temperature rises during the day, so by the evening the roads are clear again. At night, it snows again. It's actually kind of depressing. We waited and waited for snow before Christmas – in vain as it never arrived. Now, it's time for spring. Rafael did remark today of noticing the speed of the melting snow. The near-by down hill slope has big batches of grass showing; not the case two days ago. It's almost too fast.

Some claim that the common Finnish phenomenon of spring fatigue is caused by the shocking speed of changing conditions in the nature. In January, we barely had any daylight, and three months later, we barely seem to have any darkness. Maybe our bodies cannot handle this. It's just too much. So, we are supposed to go for long walks, eat lots of oranges (Vitamin C), and prepare ourselves for the nightless nights of summer. Magazines and newspapers have articles for these tips and others.

I have almost guilty feelings at any notion of my suffering from spring fatigue. This is the most special time of the year. I CANNOT feel tired and depressed. I should have felt like that in November. But no – in November, I was happily biking in the 2 PM twilight with lots of energy.  It was easy to get work done. What else could you do but stay in and work?  Now, work is one of the furthest thoughts in my mind . . .

APRIL 28, 2008
Yes . . . the days do get even longer. This morning the sun rose at 5.10 AM . . . and it won't set until 9.21 PM. It's a long day. On Saturday, April 19, we woke up to another sunny, bright morning. With our visitors, Johanna and Otto, we embarked on a nature walk in an island, about 15 kilometers from Jyväskylä. We hiked up a hill, and got lazy in the sunshine. The scenery is typical of Central Finland, the area we're living in. From a geological point of view, the whole Finnish area belongs to the Baltic block of granite, gneiss, and crystalline schist. During the Ice Age, the glaciers that moved from the northwest covered this region with a thick icesheet, and glacial erosion effectively removed the soil and left the rock bare and polished. We're now sitting on these massive rocks, enjoying the sun.

1508095.jpg
  Rafu & Central Finland granite

          1533873.jpg
                        Rafu & Otto resting in the April sun

          1508099.jpg
                                Johanna & Sirpa taking a break

The next morning, on Sunday, May 20, I took a walk with Johanna, and we saw the first flowers this spring. There was still spotty snow here and there, but the brave flowers have no respect for the remaining snow or ice. They stand erect and and proud. The birds don't seem to care either. The migrant birds returned early this year. Some, such as larks and finches came as early as February because of the warm winter. Some flew back, but many put up with the cold weather, trusting that the spring would soon arrive.          http://oppiminen.yle.fi/artikkeli?id=2687

             
                1533869.jpg

                1508113.jpg

Also older human migrant birds are arriving. Those spending winters in Florida, Spain, etc. will definitely make it back for the magical Northern summer.

Now, I've got to get back to work . . . somehow . . . maybe I'll lower the blinds . . .